In the military gallery of the Winter Palace in Saint Petersburg, among the 332 portraits of generals – participants of the 1812 – 14 war in Russia – one could behold the portrait of David Artemyevich Delianov (July 24, 1763 – July 7, 1837), a participant of the Napoleonic Wars.
The portrait clearly views the decorations of Delianov – the Order of St. George and the Order of St. Vladimir – both 4th-class – the Order of Saint Anna of the 2nd class, a Prussian order, as well as a medal in commemoration of the Great Patriotic War of 1812.
Delianov commenced his military service in 1773 at the age of 12 in the rank of Wachmeister of the Narvski carabineer regiment. He retired in the rank of general-major in 1833, having served in the Russian army for 60 years. Only a few Russian officers could boast such a lengthy military service.
In 1814, Delianov married Maria Lazareva (1783 – 1868), the daughter of the founder of the Lazarev Institute of Oriental Languages, which specialized particularly in Armenia. The Lazarev family was in fact of Armenian origin and had moved to Russia from Persia. The father of Delianov Argutyun Delakian had also migrated from New Julfa to Russia in mid-18th century to settle in the Armenian commune in Astrakhan.
Maria Lazareva gave birth to three children – sons Nikolai (1816 – 1897), Ivan (1817/18 – 1897), and daughter Yelena. On September 22, 1829, Delianov received a lordship diploma. On December 8, 1832, he along with his son Ivan was included into the Aristocratic Genealogical Book of Kaluga Governorate.
The sons of Delianov would carry on the noble traditions of the family. The eldest son Nikolai became the director of the Lazarev Institute of Oriental Languages. Ivan has also been very successful. Having graduated from the Lazarev Institute, he received legal education in Moscow University. Thanks to his innate talent, diligence, and persistence, Ivan Delianov would serve in various government offices, eventually being appointed the Minister of National Education in 1882. On November 23, 1888, Ivan Delianov was conferred the title of a count. However, he never had children, which would result in the early interruption of the count Delianov family.
The family of David Delianov spent little time in the manor built in Utyoshevo, instead mostly staying in their manor in Zheleznyaki. After the passing of her husband, Maria Delianova established the Church of the Savior of the Holy Face in his memory in 1839. The church stands on the shore of Bezvel River today as well.
The church of an Armenian cemetery in Moscow contained an epitaph dedicated to David Delianiov composed by those close to him after his passing:
“Happy is the one who preserved the earthly life, the God’s gift, as a faithful servant of the church and an obedient servant of the tsars; who fulfilled the duty of a husband and father; who was loved by everyone and who generously loved everyone; who was a friend unfamiliar to flattery. Let the one who lived so have place in the heavens.”
An Honored Artist of Russia Nikolai Smirnov created a sculpture of David Delianov for the 200th anniversary of the Great Patriotic War of 1812. The sculpture was showcased at the exhibition of the 28 oblasts of the Central Federal District of Russia. It would be awarded a prize at the All-Russian exhibition in Moscow as well.